S4E13 Moving Borders

They touched down on some part of the island he hadn’t been before, and Pearl ushered him out, together with the soldier she had with her. The flight had given him the opportunity to think, and a plan to send a broadside in the direction of Ayden Van Gould had started shaping up in his mind. He was aching to make a couple of phone calls, to set the ball rolling, but the lack of a phone couldn’t wipe out the optimism that was brewing in him. He had made it to the island, he was one step closer to his goal, and he’d just have to keep taking those steps, seeing where they’d lead him. Right now, they were leading him towards Chloe and Razor, discussing something outside a house. As he got closer, he started picking up their conversation.
Chloe: …many does that make?
Razor: Twelve, plus the lots.
Chloe: …sale by tomorrow night, at twice the estimated value.
Razor: Do you know how much work that is?! You already have me doing the…
Chloe: You better get started, then. There’s a camera inside, get going on the photos.
Razor: We have a baby now, I’ve barely seen…
Chloe: Did I tell you to have a baby? Quit moaning, and get to work.

Daniel: Chloe… What’s happening? Why the truck, and the soldiers?
Chloe: The truck is transporting a coffin. I’d think twice about making any follow-up questions to that, if I were you.
Daniel: Eh… Somebody… died?
Chloe: Precisely. The reason you’re here, however, is because you’re going on a mission: You’re going to be my date tonight.
Daniel: Your date?!
Chloe: Your clothes are in the car. Get changed, and let’s go. We’re on a clock.
Daniel: I don’t remember dates being in the job description, and I’ll be working overtime. I was looking forward to seeing Lynx tonight.
Chloe: You didn’t read the fine print in the contract?
Daniel: We never signed a contract.
Chloe: Would you like to be officially registered as an employee of a company involved in criminal activities?
Daniel: No, I guess not…
Chloe: Which means your terms of employment are whatever I say they are. Get in those clothes, and stop worrying. It isn’t a real date.

Daniel: Should I button that button again, or… Do you have a tie? What if I…
Chloe: There. Stop messing with it, that’s fine.
Daniel: If this isn’t a date, what is it?
Chloe: A formal gathering, of sorts.
Daniel: You’re not wearing a dress, so why do I have to wear this? It can’t be that formal…
Chloe: My mother was a rock star. That’s why you are wearing something formal, and I’m not.
Daniel: New car? Fancy. I thought money was in short supply?
Chloe: They are, for the company, but this isn’t a company car. What happened to your hair?
Daniel: I shaved it off to be less recognizable. I have a couple of wigs, but…
Chloe: Try them on. You’re going as my boyfriend, not my bodyguard.
Daniel: Don’t you want to know what happened in Sunset Valley?
Chloe: No. Pearl briefed me while she was flying back. Get a move on.

He had managed to keep a brave face while they were at the house, but in the car, he couldn’t help sinking into thought. If she was now “disappearing” people to take over their properties, and sell them for profit, was there any lengths she would not go to?  Who was in the coffin? Why had she told him what was in the truck, and then warned him against talking about it? Did she trust him, and was she trying to shield him from becoming embroiled in the crime? Was it a test, to see how he would react? Why had she chosen him to accompany her to this arrangement? Wh…
Chloe: Maybe that wig was a thinking cap.
Daniel: Heh… I look like a dork that just got out of bed…
Chloe: Yeah. It’s perfect.
Daniel: Perfect for what? What is this thing we’re going to?
Chloe: A business gathering, of sorts. Your name is Tex Nelson.
Daniel: What’s my background?
Chloe: You don’t need one. You’ll say as little as possible, to the point of being rude. Preferably, you’ll restrict yourself to answers that don’t require you to open your mouth. Let me do the talking, and just chill.

Daniel: I don’t understand why you need to have me tagging along.
Chloe: You’re tagging along because I’m not interested in dealing with romantic nonsense from lovesick bachelors.
Daniel: Hm.
Chloe: There you go, you’re doing it already. You’re a natural. Has Nuraya been in contact?
Daniel: No.
Chloe: Strange. I trust you’ll keep me informed when you hear from her again?
Daniel: Of course. Where are we going?
Chloe: To the building behind those palms, near the lagoon.
Daniel: Who else will be there?
Chloe: The Kahales, who are hosting, and some people from the mainland.

Daniel: What is this…?!
Chloe: I know, it’s shocking. Those concrete slabs are such an eyesore, and the landscaping is…
Daniel: I meant the weaponry, and the soldiers!
Chloe: Oh, that…
Daniel: There’s even a fracking tank here!
Chloe: Is there? I don’t always remember everything I buy.
Daniel: Are you looking to start a war…?!
Chloe: No. That is exactly what I’m trying to avoid, whipster. On the other hand, I hope there’s a war going on somewhere, so I can offload it all when it’s no longer needed.
Daniel: Why would there be a war?
Chloe: Let’s go inside, you’ll know why soon enough.
They wandered past the vehicles and the soldiers, Pearl and Sgt. Willer was among them, and into the building, which was completely empty. On the top floor, a group of people were gathering around two guys with guitars, and Chloe ushered them into place behind what had to be the two hosts.

This is my island in the sun
Where my people have toiled
Since time begun
I may sail on many a sea
Her shores will always
Be home to me
Oh, island in the sun
Willed to me by my father’s hand
All my days I will sing in praise
Of your forest, waters, your shining sand.

Alani: Two blond beach bums… Is that really all you could come up with?
Kai: I didn’t have much time…
Alani: You never have for anything important. Maybe we should get one of the beach bums to move in here and start managing things.
…cutting cane for her family…
Alani: Not a lot of cane here, is there? A song set in the wrong ocean. You’ve really outdone yourself this time, Kai.
Kai: For heaven’s sake, Alani. Can’t you just be happy, for once?
Alani: Pay them and get rid of them, before this gets even more embarrassing.

Kai: Welcome, everybody. We mentioned a rare business opportunity when we invited you here, but at this stage, you must all be wondering what is going on. Why are we here, in this shell of a building, with soldiers and weapons stationed outside? Because circumstances have changed, and when circumstances change, new opportunities come knocking. This is a very, very special day, not just for Alani and me, but for everybody on our little island in the sun. Personally, I never thought this day would come, and it is at moments like this I ask myself: What would our fathers have thought about this? Our grandfathers? Would they have called us reckless, or even crazy? Or would they have stood up and app…

Alani: I’m sorry… My husband’s speeches tend to drag out, he is a politician as you know, it hasn’t gotten any better now that he’s president, and I have a terrible headache… Yes, I did say president, and this building will become his official residence, once it’s fit for occupation. Two hours ago, the Sunlit Tides council unanimously voted in favor of the island seceding from Sim Nation, and declaring independence. Welcome to the Republic of Sunlit Tides. You are here because we would like your help in making this transition as smooth as possible. As you all know, war is bad for business, and there isn’t a lot on this island worth conquering. We just want to go our own path, peacefully, and offer something that Sim Nation does not: The lowest tax rates on the planet, for both individuals and businesses, and, through the newly established First Bank of Sunlit Tides, interest rates that will be unmatched. It is our hope that you will find the opportunities this provides, sufficiently interesting to support the independence of our fledgling nation. There are refreshments on the patio, please feel free to mingle. Thank you for coming, and thank you for listening.

Man: This is getting too political for my taste… Excuse me.
It came from a white-blazered man behind him, and when he turned around to look, the man was already walking out. Before he had any time to process what had just happened, people were in motion, some heading for patio, while others were making introductions.

Natalie: Natalie Gooder, of Starlight Shores. You must be Oceane, and you are… Well, obviously you are someone important, but…
Daniel: Uh…
Chloe: This is Tex Nelson, my current disposable boyfriend.
Natalie: OK… Tex, are you in business, or politics or…
Chloe: He’s in bed, mostly, and he isn’t very talkative. It’s beginning to get boring, so I’ll get rid of him soon.
Natalie: I see… I don’t mean to be rude, but I thought this was by invite only….
Chloe: It is. I invited him.
Natalie: Oh… Well, nice to meet you both.
A handful of people approached them to exchange pleasantries, and she didn’t treat them very diplomatically. It didn’t seem like she was here to make friends. While trying to remember their names, his mind was racing. His first reaction was relief, as powerless feds meant he wouldn’t have to turn anyone in, but trepidation quickly joined the mix. The Kahales might be fronting this, but Chloe had to be the one pulling the strings. If nobody would be able to end the reign of Chloe I, long would she reign, and there was no telling how many people would be dragged into the depths by her dark tentacles. One the other hand, Nuraya would never abandon her crusade to bring Chloe down, which might have dire consequences for anyone connected to Chloe, especially himself.

Chloe: Are you coming, or are you just going to stand there?
Daniel: Sim Nation law enforcement can’t touch you now…
Chloe: Really? Why didn’t I think of that? You’re very clever, whipster.
Daniel: For how long have you been planning this?
Chloe: You didn’t expect it? Basic strategy 101: Secure your position. If you want to learn something, stop reading fake diaries and start reading the classics, like Sun Tzu.
Daniel: Sun Who?
Chloe: OK, let’s keep it simple for now: Follow the jeans-clad ass, then mingle. Even you should be able to do that.
As usual, her stab was coupled with a mischievous smile, making it feel like flirtatious praise. He knew it was coming, but putting up a successful defence against that smile would always be beyond him.

Erica Berge: Isn’t it beautiful? All that water reminds me of home.
Booker Singleton: Hah! Where’s the icicles?
Erica: Aurora Skies has summers too, Mr. Singleton.
Marylou Shallow: What’s that big building? It looks like giant boxes of chocolate, stacked on top of each other. Maybe I can buy raspberry-chocolate there…
Erica: That, I believe, is Nebula 7. The home and headquarters of Oceane de la Tremouille. Do you live there, Tex?
Daniel: Mm.
Booker: She’s the one who got all them weapons, I heard.
Marylou: I hope there’ll be a war. Wars are so exciting. Don’t you think so, Tex?
Daniel: M-M. M-M.
Booker: Hah! You should join the army, Marylou, maybe you’ll like it a little less…
Marylou: Why is anyone in the army if they don’t like war?
Erica: Deterrent is not a word you’re familiar with, is it Marylou?
Marylou: Why wouldn’t it be? I do my own laundry, sometimes. Well, not very often…
Erica: *sigh*

Marylou: You’re one of them shy guys, aren’t you, Tex?
Daniel: Mhm.
Marylou: He’s one of them shy guys.
Erica: Yes, I heard.
Marylou: I used to be shy too. Mousy Marylou, they used to call me in school, and they bugged me about it all the time. Mousy! Mousy! Jenna was the worst, and I didn’t forget that. I still remember how she cried when I made her lose her job…
Daniel: Hm.
Marylou: I ate an ice cream outside her house when the repoman took all her stuff. I think it was a Freezer Bunny…
Erica: Fascinating.
Marylou: When the social worker came for her kids, I…
Daniel: I’m hungry.
Marylou: Maybe I should eat something too…

Natalie: We’re their nearest neighbors, but I’m not sure about this…
Sebastian Vanderburg: Why? Think about all the money you can save by living here.
Natalie: I don’t think tax refugees are what Starlight Shores needs. Don’t you think Hidden Springs will suffer if they lose significant tax income?
Sebastian: Why should I care? I’m not responsible for keeping that town afloat. How about you, Marylou? Do you worry about the people of Riverview?
Marylou: Toddlers are a bit like ants, aren’t they? If you don’t keep them boxed up, they’re crawling all over, looking for sweets. I think I prefer ants, because their poo doesn’t smell. Does it?
Sebastian: Yes, well… Ayden Van Gould isn’t here, but he’s backing this, and Heidi Schlagdorff has already moved here. Shark Racket and Sofia Carlton are honeymooning, but they’re all for it. See the guy in the white suit? That’s Roy Landgraab of Landgraab Enterprises, and he’s behind this too.
Natalie: Jaycen Hendrix walked out, which means Lucky Palms is not backing this, there’s nobody here from Bridgeport or Sunset Valley, or Evansdale, or Barnacle Bay…
Sebastian: Barnacle Bay is a shantytown, and Sunset Valley just suffered a failed coup. Igor Schlick is a recluse, you know that. He’ll come around. Booker, Erica and Costa are in, which means this thing has too much support to fail. Do you want to be the odd woman out here?
Natalie: I don’t know, Sebastian. Jaycen usually has a nose for these things, and he doesn’t like how it smells…
Marylou: If he has a sensitive nose, no wonder he doesn’t have any children…

Booker: You’re a believer in equal opportunity, I take it?
Chloe: No. I prefer women in positions of leadership because they’re better at it.
Sebastian: You can’t be serious…
Booker: I’ve seen my share of female leadership, and in most cases, they seem to think reorganizing will solve everything. They shuffle people around, like they’re rearranging the furniture in a broken home, and we’ve got to move them on before they wreck their whole department.
Chloe: There’s really no need to discuss leadership qualities, the results of male leadership speaks for themselves. The ice caps are melting, animal species are going extinct at five thousand times the normal rate, and the oceans are choking on plastic. This is a man’s world, and isn’t it magnificent? It’s like a 5-year old have been rummaging around without supervision, and when you check on him, you discover that he has clogged the sink, killed the canary, and spilled his LEGO across every floor in the house. Well, don’t blame us women, we were in the kitchen, because you put us there, and now we’ll have to clean up your mess.
Booker: Hah! That’s funny, but ridiculous all the same. Besides, there’s nothing wrong with traditional values. My life likes to cook, and…
Chloe: Does she? How wonderful. The next time she says “Honey, I messed up the pancakes,” you can tell her: “That’s OK, darling. You see, I messed up the planet.”
Sebastian: Oh, come on…

Chloe: Men were at their peak when we needed the lone, broad-browed, determined hunter, unceasingly stalking his animal prey through all kinds of weather, on a quest to feed his family. Since we embraced civilization, it’s all been downhill for you guys: Women keep socializing, chatting and gathering, while you’re busy being confused by all the buildings obscuring your view as you look towards the horizon, scanning for prey that isn’t there, and flexing your useless muscles as if you’re looking to scare off club-wielding tribesmen lying in wait to ambush you behind the nearest coffee shop. You can’t talk about your problems, you can’t multitask, real conversation makes your eyes glaze over in a matter of minutes, and the simple act of walking through a few shops will cause your minds to melt from information overload. Your brains went obsolete six thousand years ago, but you’ve managed to justify your existence by your ability to obediently die on the battlefield for moronic rulers who wanted to redraw lines on a map. With drones and robots to fight future wars and do menial tasks, your days are inevitably numbered once we artificially replicate your reproductive system, and come on, yours is ridiculously simple, compared to ours. At that point, natural selection will start finishing you off, a process that has already begun in educational systems around the world, where girls are vastly outperforming boys, and within a couple of hundred years, when an astronette is setting foot on a distant planet, it won’t be a small step, and it won’t be for mankind. Men will only be found in glass boxes, displayed next to the Neanderthals in museums of natural history, where moms will stroll with their daughters, pointing and laughing at look-at-me-grab-my-crotch Butch, or reality-is-so-hard-to-deal-with Stephen, and while mankind is being reduced to just another historical curiosity, womankind will be leaping forward, across the galaxies.
Booker: Hah!

Sebastian: What…?! Are you for real?
Flippo Costa: I think Ms. De la Tremouille is just looking to wind us up…
Booker: I dunno… She could be one of them rabid feminists.
Sebastian: You’re joking, right? For God’s sake…
Chloe: No. Women really are better than men at most things, and…
Sebastian: Yeah? Wanna put your money where your mouth is? Let’s make a bet.
Chloe: What are we betting on? How far our hairlines will recede?
Sebastian: How about a game of golf? You and me. Man against woman.
Chloe: Golf is horribly boring, I would fall asleep before I got halfway through. One hit, or whatever it’s called. Whoever hits the ball farthest wins?
Sebastian: Heh… That’s fine. What are we putting on the line? Money? One hundred thousand?
Chloe: Money is so vulgar. Do you have any nice cars? I like cars.
Sebastian: I have a Rolls Royce Wraith, a Mercedes AMG…
Chloe: I don’t really like any of those.
Sebastian: …an Aston Martin D…
Chloe: An Aston Martin? Excellent. I’ll put up real estate on Sunlit Tides worth the same amount. I own quite a lot… My place, tomorrow at noon? I’ll purchase what we need.
Sebastian: That soon? OK…

While Chloe seemed to be most interested in picking fights, there were exceptions. Her conversations with the Kahales were rather normal, and then there was Roy Landgraab. The two of them snuck away to the far end of the patio and during a long conversation, seemed to be discussing the other guests. It wasn’t until he had watched them for a while that he realized that if Nandini had been able to make phone calls, his goose was now utterly cooked, as the one person she was sure to call, was her son. With sweat trickling down his back, he tried to gauge whether they were looking at him, and if he should make a run for it. After a while, Chloe wandered off without seeming particularly interested, and he decided to risk moving in on Roy Landgraab.

Daniel: Tex Nelson.
Roy: Roy Landgraab, but there’s no need to pretend, Daniel. I know who you are. Chloe told me.
Daniel: Oh, did she… So… You know about her too…
Roy: I wouldn’t be here for anyone else. She’s the greatest ally our family ever had, as I’m sure you know.
Daniel: Of course. I heard your mother has been arrested. Is she OK? Have you talked to her?
Roy: Nasty business that. She hasn’t been allowed to talk to anyone, as far as I know. I have a lawyer looking into it, this notion that she might warn off “possible accomplices” is simply ridiculous. We might not make it in time, I’m afraid, my mother is nearing the end of her days.
Daniel: Real sorry to hear that. She was a close friend of my grandmother, as I understand it.
Roy: You’re right about that. I think I left Sunset Valley before your time, but I met your grandmother several times. In their younger days, when they hung out with Corrie Sw0rd, calling themselves “The Cat Pack”, they lit up the night life, and being a bachelor wasn’t very safe, I’m told. What a pity that Corrie got too big for her britches in the end. You heard about that, I suppose?

Daniel: Yeah, I heard. Where exactly does Landgraab Enterprises do their business? I know you’re not in Sunset Valley, but…
Roy: We sold out in Sunset Valley a long time ago, to avoid mixing business with pleasure, and now we’re a bit all over the place, engaged in all kinds of business, and only intermittently under the Landgraab flag. Very few people actually know how extensive we’ve become, and Corrie Sw0rd wasn’t in the know. If she had known, perhaps she had acted differently.
Daniel: Sounds like you can throw a bit of weight, should you choose to…
Roy: You might say that. Our old mansion in Sunset Valley may not have looked like much, but moderation was always our motto.
Daniel: An example to be followed. I’m sure you’re currently engaged in several important projects?
Roy: We’re soon done with retooling Chloe’s recent acquisition, as you probably know…
Daniel: Of course…
Roy: …and then there’s…
Chloe: Excuse me, Roy. I need a word with my employee.

Chloe: Ignoring my instructions?
Daniel: Just passing time while you’re making new friends. You looking to win a new car? I think I saw a driving range on the roof outside your office…
Chloe: Very perceptive, whipster. Sebastian Vanderburg has a habit of playing golf for money. He’s decent, but the weak point in his game is his drive. I haven’t putted a ball in my life, but my drive is vicious.
Daniel: You were leading him on, into a well-laid trap. Why do you need another car?
Chloe: We have a problem. You’re failing at your job.
Daniel: What?
Chloe: You’re supposed to be my boyfriend, remember?  Booker Singleton thinks you’re my secretary, and Filippo Costa is convinced that you’re my DJ. If this keeps up, I’ll have Filippo running around Nebula 7 serenading me in Italian every night, and I’m not very keen on that. You have to step up your game.
Daniel: OK… What should I…?
Chloe: Are you really that daft? Kiss me, whipster.
Daniel: Huh?

Chloe: Make it look good, a wet tongue-twister, not some peck on the cheek like I’m your grandmother.
Daniel: What? No… You are my grandmother.
Chloe: Don’t be such a wuss. There’s so many generations between us that we’re barely related.
Daniel: They’d see it, and…
Chloe: That’s the whole point. Everybody expects it. Pucker up and play your role.
Daniel: No, it’d be wrong.
Chloe: Says who? Your mother? Religion? Accepted custom? Screw all that. It’s as easy as opening a door, walking through it, and never looking back.
Daniel: This wasn’t a part of the deal…
Chloe: I said you were going as my boyfriend. Which part of that did you fail to comprehend?

Daniel: I’m not your boyfriend! I’m with Lynx, and…
Chloe: And…? She won’t find out. Who’d tell her?
Daniel: It isn’t about that, it wouldn’t be right…
Chloe: All systems of morality are forms of oppression. There is no right or wrong, good or evil. All that matters is willingness to act. Now act, and do your job.
Daniel: No, I don’t accept that…
Chloe: Why not? Who decides what is right or wrong? A group of people? What gave them the right? Some old book?
Daniel: This is a test or some game you’re playing. You’d probably use it against me somehow.
Chloe: Of course I would, if I had to. Why would I have to? Come on now, just do it.
Daniel: No, stop it, I’m not doing it.

She took a couple of steps away from him before she turned around, facing him.
Chloe: Goodnight, whipster.
Daniel: Eh… Are we going back to Nebula 7?
Chloe: No. You are.
She held her gaze for a couple of seconds, to let it sink in, and throughout what felt like a minute, he longed in vain for her to smile, if not with her mouth, then at least with her eyes. Instead, it felt like taking a lash from a nine-tailed whip, straight to the face. Moments ago, he had felt the warmth from her touch, but she was now as far away as the stars twinkling in the sky behind her, and as cold as the vacuum that surrounded them.

As he watched her strut off back to the rich and famous, a world she had always belonged to, it struck him that if Alyssina had kept her act together, he would have been invited to this, and Chloe would still be in her grave. But even in that case, he would only have been here because of her, and because of how she had walked away from a husband and a 5-year old child. All roads, both forwards and backwards, were going through her, and she could send him off that road as easily as brushing a speck of dust from her shoulder. She had done it to her own daughter, and if this was a test, he had flunked it so hard that even his sister would have been proud of it.

Leave a comment